is 110v using ground rod safe?

All about electrical and electronics.

is 110v using ground rod safe?

Unread post #1 by spyghost » Mon Apr 22, 2013 7:39 am

Hi,

We all love 110v tools due to the fact that they most of the time cheaper including the landing cost and at the same time and hate them because they aren't fully compatible with our mains, which is 220v. Solution is transformer, but for high powered ones a 2kw or a 3kw should be used - the thing is these are way "too heavy,' specially for those who don't have a dedicated workshop.

- is it safe to have a ground rod buried deep in the ground to act as the 0v so a 110v can be taken from either line of the mains?
- how deep should this rod be? is there a risk of shock for those surrounding this rod?
- is there a safety factor that needs to be considered here? (loading a single line, imbalance for that matter)

if there are factors that i've missed, please let me know.
Random avatar
spyghost
Newly Registered Member
Newly Registered Member
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2012 12:44 pm

Share On:

Share on Facebook Facebook Share on Twitter Twitter

Re: is 110v using ground rod safe?

Unread post #2 by timber715 » Mon Apr 22, 2013 9:33 am

Well, if you use a ground stake it wouldn't be portable as well right? Stay with a transformer it is more portable than a ground stake and safer too....
A ground stake often requires 8' btw but really depends where you are...
User avatar
timber715
Admin
Admin
 
Posts: 4802
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2012 12:47 am

Re: is 110v using ground rod safe?

Unread post #3 by joey81 » Mon Apr 22, 2013 10:11 am

Tried this once on my GTS1031 just to satisfy my curiosity. I noticed that the TS ran a bit slower than when using a 110v transformer.

My setup is:
- #14 ground wire
- 8-foot copper stake
- also connected to meralco's ground
Rotir Tools * Bosch * Dremel * Hitachi * Dewalt * Freud * Harbor Freight * Woodpecker * Incra * Skil * Whiteside * CMT * Grizzly
User avatar
joey81
Sr. Member
Sr. Member
 
Posts: 2130
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 12:05 pm

Re: is 110v using ground rod safe?

Unread post #4 by spyghost » Mon Apr 22, 2013 10:31 am

is it mandatory to connecto to meralco ground?
Random avatar
spyghost
Newly Registered Member
Newly Registered Member
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2012 12:44 pm

Re: is 110v using ground rod safe?

Unread post #5 by joey81 » Mon Apr 22, 2013 11:32 am

spyghost wrote:is it mandatory to connecto to meralco ground?


Yes. Meralco required me to provide 3 wires before they connect my meter. Two for the live connection and one ground.
Rotir Tools * Bosch * Dremel * Hitachi * Dewalt * Freud * Harbor Freight * Woodpecker * Incra * Skil * Whiteside * CMT * Grizzly
User avatar
joey81
Sr. Member
Sr. Member
 
Posts: 2130
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 12:05 pm

Re: is 110v using ground rod safe?

Unread post #6 by JayL » Mon Apr 22, 2013 12:31 pm

Meralco ground wire is called Messenger Wire.
Millermatic 180 Autoset Mig Welder
Miller Spoolmate 100 Spool Gun
Victor Firepower 350 Oxy Ace Outfit
3M Speedglas 9002X AD Helmet
Makita LC1230
Ingersoll Rand Air Tools
Snap On Tools
Metabo Power Tools
Norseman Cutting Tools
Bosch Power Tools
3M PPS
User avatar
JayL
Moderators
Moderators
 
Posts: 2778
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2012 11:08 pm

Re: is 110v using ground rod safe?

Unread post #7 by spyghost » Mon Apr 22, 2013 1:16 pm

ok, so meralco does provide a 3 line supply... all the while i thought it was only 2.

so technically speaking, when a house is wired, 3-pronged outlets/connectors should have been used after all? :wtf:
Random avatar
spyghost
Newly Registered Member
Newly Registered Member
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2012 12:44 pm

Re: is 110v using ground rod safe?

Unread post #8 by balarila » Mon Apr 22, 2013 1:18 pm

For grounding, I used some copper grounding rods (yes, you need more than one buried in soil) connected via gauge2 copper wire into my circuit breaker. All sockets at home have 3rd prong.

So far so good.
I'd rather add life to my years than years to my life.
User avatar
balarila
Sr. Member
Sr. Member
 
Posts: 2436
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2012 10:11 am
Location: Antipolo, Rizal

Re: is 110v using ground rod safe?

Unread post #9 by timber715 » Sun May 05, 2013 6:54 pm

joey81 wrote:Tried this once on my GTS1031 just to satisfy my curiosity. I noticed that the TS ran a bit slower than when using a 110v transformer.

My setup is:
- #14 ground wire
- 8-foot copper stake
- also connected to meralco's ground

Check your sources... One must be right and the other isn't.... OR, under rated yung step down mo.

Step down ba o avr gamit mo?
User avatar
timber715
Admin
Admin
 
Posts: 4802
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2012 12:47 am

Re: is 110v using ground rod safe?

Unread post #10 by NelsondeLeon » Thu Nov 14, 2013 10:58 am

Somebody once told me that making your own ground via grounding rod is better than connecting to meralco messenger wire. In the event that lightning hits the messenger wire, your precious gears will mostly be toasted.
Random avatar
NelsondeLeon
Newly Registered Member
Newly Registered Member
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Jul 25, 2013 7:35 am

Next

Return to Electricals and Electronics



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cab1net advertisements
  • Advertisement
  • Place your adds here